Resources for Students

Students are the future of ITE. The information and resources on this page are to assist ITE student leaders and members to deliver a quality program for the university’s ITE student chapter. Below there are details about the MWITE Student Activities Committee; links to resources for chapter governance; information on awards for chapters and individual student members for the MWITE District and ITE International; and also contact information for each chapter in the Midwestern District. If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact a member of the MWITE Student Activities Committee.

Midwestern ITE District Student Activities Committee

In 2015, the Midwestern District Board created a Student Activities Committee to promote the advancement of the transportation planning and engineering profession among students in the study of transportation engineering and planning. In recognition that students are the future leaders of ITE and the Midwestern District, the District Board wanted to take more proactive steps in interacting with student members, and in coordinating and promoting student chapter activities across the 11-state area of the District. The Student Activities Committee is responsible for assisting universities and colleges within the Midwestern District to establish new student chapters, assisting in reactivating student chapters, and monitoring the status of the student chapters. The committee also coordinates with local sections/chapters and International ITE staff on student related issues, and is available to student chapters to provide advice, guidance or information on topics such as potential technical programs, contact information for members, officers and staff of ITE or career guidance.

The Student Activities Committee is responsible for the following student activities and competitions that are conducted each year:

  • Student Poster Competition (during Annual Conference)(for 2018 instructions click 2018-student-poster-session-05-29-2018)
  • Collegiate Traffic Bowl (during Annual Conference)
  • Student Design Competition (during Annual Conference)
  • Annual Conference Chapter Participation Award (for 2018 award criteria click here)
  • Student Social Activities in coordination with Traffic Bowl (during Annual Conference)
  • Promotion of the Student Paper Competition and Student Chapter Activities Award (to be coordinated with the District Vice President, who is responsible for the selection committee)
  • NCITE Student Scholarship Opportunities (
  • Other student initiatives as directed or approved by the District Board

The committee also provides support to the host student chapter of the annual Midwestern/Great Lakes Student Leadership Summit.

The committee is comprised of a chair and vice chair, appointed by the District Board, and representatives from each section in the District. If you are interested in working with this committee, please contact your Section’s President or a member of the committee.

Illinois Section Ashley Hochstatter
MOVITE Section Nicole Oneyear
NCITE Section Abby Rieckman
Kevin Peterson
Wisconsin Section Susan Paulus
Committee Chair John Davis
Committee Vice Chair VACANT

Student Chapters

There are 23 Student Chapters under Midwestern District. If you are interested in starting a Student Chapter, click here to go to the ITE website for additional information for student programs and services to get you started.

Illinois Section (state of Illinois)

MOVITE (Missouri Valley) Section (states of Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and Oklahoma)

North Central Section (NCITE) (states of Minnesota, North Dakota, and South Dakota)

Wisconsin Section (state of Wisconsin)

Student Chapter Faculty Advisers’ Contact Information

Illinois Institute of Technology Zongzhi Li
Iowa State University Jing Dong
Kansas State University Eric Fitzsimmons
Marquette University Alexander Drakopoulos
Missouri University of Science & Technology XianBiao (XB) Hu
North Dakota State University – Fargo Amiy Varma
Northwestern University Pablo Durango-Cohen
Oklahoma State University Samir Ahmed
Saint Louis University Jalil Kianfar
South Dakota State University Rouzbeh Ghabchi
Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville Yan Qi
University of Arkansas Sarah Hernandez
University of Illinois – Chicago Bo Zou
University of Illinois – Urbana/ Champaign Rahim (Ray) Behekohal
University of Kansas Steven Schrock
University of Minnesota – Twin Cities Campus Alireza Khani
University of Missouri – Columbia (Rolla) Carlos Sun
University of Nebraska – Lincoln Aemal Khattak
University of Oklahoma Richard Marshment
University of Wisconsin – Madison David Noyce
University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee Troy (Yue) Liu
University of Wisconsin – Platteville Kristina Fields
Washington University at St. Louis Shawn Leight

Annual District Student Competitions

Student Leadership Summitsite-conference-event2016-2-2

In 2016, the University of Iowa ITE student chapter hosted the first Midwestern/Great Lakes Student Leadership Summit at their campus in Ames, Iowa. Almost 80 students from universities in the Midwestern and Great Lakes ITE Districts convened for a weekend of fun and sessions about leadership and the transportation profession. The Summit is “planned by students for students”. ITE members assist in providing some guidance and assistance in some of the activities by the event is student planned and led.

The 2nd Summit was held in 2017 in West Lafayette, Indiana and hosted by the student chapter of Purdue University. Almost 120 students from 26 schools attend the events that year. Details are being planned for the 3rd Annual Student Leadership Summit to be hosted by the student chapter at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, Minnesota this coming August 18-19, 2018. Click here for more information.

Student Chapter Annual Reports

Each year ITE Student Chapters are required to submit an annual report to the Midwestern District Board and to ITE Headquarters by MARCH 1st. Click annual_report_form to find a report form template that shows the minimum information required to be submitted by each Student Chapter to ITE Headquarters each year. (See Section II.D of the Student Chapter Manual.) You may use a copy of this form, filling in the blanks and adding attachments as appropriate; or if it is more convenient, submit the same information in a format similar to this form.

If your Student Chapter desires to be evaluated for the annual Midwestern District and ITE Student Chapter Awards, you are invited to prepare a supplementary report that describes your Student Chapter activities in greater detail than is requested in this report.

Click here to view chapters reports submitted in previous years.

Student Scholarships and Grants offered by ITE Sections

Student Scholarship – Illinois (ILITE)

$2,000 (Undergraduate Career Objectives/Recommendations)

Harvey Shebesta Scholarship – Wisconsin (ITEWI)

$1,000 (Career Objectives/Recommendations)

Martin Bruening Student Paper Award Competition – Wisconsin (ITEWI)

$200 (Technical Paper)

Thomas J. Seburn Student Paper Award (MOVITE)

  • First place – $1500 plus expenses not to exceed $400 to attend the MOVITE Spring Meeting
  • Second place – $500
  • Third place – $250

Jan Kibbe Student Scholarship (MOVITE)

  • First place – $2,000

Technical Research Grant (MOVITE)

  • Grant of up to $2000

For more details about the MOVITE scholarships and grant, please visit the MOVITE web site at: